Alessandro Righi

my profile picture

ABOUT ME

Hi! I'm a computer science student, currently completing a Master's degree at the University of Verona.

I live in San Pietro in Cariano, a beautiful village in the Valpolicella countryside, home of famous Italian wines like Amarone and Recioto.

As a child I was really courious, I had to know how things worked, I liked to take apart stuff and always had a screwdriver in my hands. Then my parents gave me a computer, so I started tinkering around with it, installed Linux on it, and then started programming. And I instantly fell in love with it, I had the power to make my computer do exactly what I tell him to do.

But don't worry! I also like other things, hanging out with friends, doing sports, music, litterature, politics, I'm not the boring nerd that I may appear!

IT KNOWLEDGE

I know very well GNU/Linux operatings systems, in fact I'm a huge free software supporter. I used practically every distribution, and now setteled with ArchLinux, and I feel at home in a shell. I like being a systemd administrator, managing servers, configuring networks, writing shell scripts, configuration files, and other stuff.

I'm also good at coding, I know a lot of programming languages: Rust, C, C++, Python, Java, JavaScript, shell scripting. My favourite nowadays is Rust, that I'm starting to use for practically every project.

I also have competences in SQL databases, building REST or GraphQL APIs, building backends for web applications, and a little of frontend programming.

I also have good competences in algorithms and data structures. In that regard I participate at programming contests, last year I partecipated at the SWERC ICPC regionals in Paris and at the Google HashCode word finals in Dublin.

WORK EXPERIENCE

Since 2018 I work for the Italian Olympiad in Informatics team, as a tutor at the trainings that are held during the year and as a software developer. The main project that we are developing now is TuringArena, a new platform to host programming contests.

I work as a tutor in my university, to help first year students that are approaching programming for the first time.

I also developed a lot of personal project, that can be found on my GitHub page.

As a non-IT related jobs, I help my father with his vineyards, in particular with the harvest. Time to time I appreciate doing a job outside, that doesn't consist in sitting down in front of a keyboard all day.

You can download my CV (curriculum vitae) here (or here in Italian). I'm currently looking around for a job, since I completing my studies, so job offfers are very welcome!